Site Loader

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px ‘Trebuchet MS’; color: #000000; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px ‘Trebuchet MS’; color: #000000; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000; min-height: 14.0px} span.s1 {font-kerning: none}

Many mental health disorders have similar symptoms and not all patients will show these symptoms which means that it can be extremely difficult to classify and diagnose mental disorders. 

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

Classification of mental disorders involves taking sets of symptoms and putting them together into varies categories, for example, the symptoms of a depressed mood are feeling helpless, and having low self esteem etc. we go into classifying that disorder as part of a wider class of disorders. 
On the hand, diagnosis involves assessing a patients symptoms and deciding if they meet the criteria for one or more for one or more mental disorders. Typically diagnosis consists of a certain number of symptoms present for a particular time. 

The Diagnostic and statistical manual (DSM) is tool/book used by psychiatrists / therapists to help with diagnosing mental disorders. The DSM is American but there are other tools such the ICD (International Classification of Diseases). 

When mental disorders are classified they’re put into categories. For example low self esteem, depressed mood, too much or too little sleep or having a hard time concentrating would all be symptoms that are commonly grouped together. These symptoms are then further categorised into a wider spectrum of disorders, however in this case, depressive mood disorders. 
The DSM is updated very regularly. The first version released in 1952, and since then there have been so many more disorders added to the DSM Manuel, as well as many taken away. The fourth version was updated in 1994 and clinicians are currently using DSM-5 which was published in 2000. 

The reason the DSM needs to be updated regularly is because the society is constantly changing over time, and thus is has to comply with the social norms. In addition to this, new information is always discovered about a huge variety of illnesses and thus this information needs to be included in the diagnosis and abnormalities. 

The DSM-5 is multi-axial, which means it considers a number of factors including health and social factors when making a diagnosis. There are five axis considered when diagnosing mental disorders; axis one, clinical syndromes

Post Author: admin


I'm Erica!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out